Twitter is giving some of its users a new way to control which conversations they can be mentioned in. This new “Unmentioning” experiment, which is currently only available on the web, will allow users to leave a conversation by preventing other users to mention them.
This feature will still allow Twitter users to follow a conversation if they want to, but they won’t be bothered by mentions and notifications anymore. Twitter can be a pretty toxic place, and getting out of a conversation is sometimes the right thing to do.
How do you say “Don’t @ me,” without saying “Don’t @ me”?
We’re experimenting with Unmentioning—a way to help you protect your peace and remove yourself from conversations—available on Web for some of you now. pic.twitter.com/rlo6lqp34H
— Twitter Safety (@TwitterSafety) April 7, 2022
If you’ve been selected for this experiment, you can escape a conversation by clicking the ellipsis button on a tweet and choosing “Leave a conversation” from the popup window. Again, this feature is only available on the web for select users, and it’s not clear yet when this feature will become more broadly available.
It’s been quite an interesting week for Twitter: Elon Musk, a pretty active Twitter user himself with over 80 million followers became the company’s biggest shareholder and received an invite to the company’s board of directors. Twitter also confirmed that it was working on a new Edit button, which the company confirmed to be “the most requested Twitter feature for many years.”
On a less positive front, the company has also quietly changed how tweets that have been embedded on a web page look once they have been deleted by the author. These tweets now appear as a blank box, and that will likely push users to stop embedding tweets and use screenshots instead, just in case they get deleted later.
Tagged with Twitter